2013 Changes to Knoxville Region's Statistical Areas

On February 28, 2013, the U.S. Office of Management and Budget released new definitions for the nation’s metropolitan, micropolitan, and combined statistical areas. Substantial changes were made to the boundaries of statistical areas in East Tennessee, including those for which data are reported by Knoxville-Knox County Planning.

Knoxville-Knox County Planning has compiled summary data from 2010 Census population counts to show the impact of the changes on our metropolitan area. Data are provided in PDF and Excel tables. To assist readers in understanding the recent changes, a presentation detailing the statistical area delineation process and its resultant impacts on local definitions is provided.

The Knoxville Metropolitan Statistical Area grew from a five-county area to include nine counties: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Grainger, Knox, Loudon, Morgan, Roane, and Union. A map showing the counties that now comprise the Knoxville Metropolitan Statistical Area is provided.

The Knoxville-Morristown-Sevierville Combined Statistical Area replaced the Knoxville-Sevierville-LaFollette CSA, growing from 12 to 13 counties: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson, Hamblen, Knox, Loudon, Morgan, Roane, Sevier, and Union.

Changes are effective immediately.

Some data from the U.S. Census Bureau will represent the new boundaries, other data will not.

Data sources that WILL include 2013 statistical area boundaries:

  • Population Estimates Program, starting with 2012 figures
  • American Community Survey, FUTURE releases

Data sources that WILL NOT include 2013 statistical area boundaries:

  • Decennial Census of Population and Housing, prior to and including 2010
  • American Community Survey, PAST releases

Generally, the Census Bureau reports data for statistical areas as they are defined at the time of data collection.